Art in Motion

March 17-25, 2017 | Davidson Theatre (formerly Capitol Theatre)

Columbus and World Premiere
Friday, 3/17 Senior Dress Rehearsal
Friday, 3/17 8 p.m.
Saturday, 3/18 8 p.m.
Sunday, 3/19 2 p.m.
Thursday, 3/23 7:30 p.m.
Friday, 3/24 8 p.m.
Saturday, 3/25 8 p.m.

Choreography: Christopher Wheeldon, Gustavo Ramirez Sansano, Edwaard Liang
Music: Joby Talbot, Perez Prado

Composer: Gabriel Gaffney Smith

Run time: 1 Hour and 44 Minutes

Gold petals shower the stage as dancers weave themselves together for the closing tableau of Christopher Wheeldon’s Fool’s Paradise, a Company Premiere and one of three works in Art in Motion. Gustavo Ramirez Sansano’s acclaimed 18+1 will return to Columbus, with its celebratory air and a shower of confetti. Water will rain down on dancers as the show closes with the World Premiere of Edwaard Liang’s Airavata.

Discover More:

Fool’s Paradise

Choreography: Christopher Wheeldon
Music: Jolby Talbot

Christopher Wheeldon’s Fool’s Paradise was first performed in 2007 at Sadler’s Wells Theatre. Wheeldon’s inspiration for the piece originates from its score, Joby Talbot’s The Dying Swan, which was used in a 1916 silent film depicting an artist precariously infatuated with his dancer muse. Fool’s Paradise blends classical technique with contemporary choreography to create a visually stunning abstract work. Dancers are bathed in a warm light throughout the work as they move through beautiful solos, duets, trios and sculptural tableaux. A breathtaking pas de deux unites the ensembles as gold petals fall across the stage. BalletMet is only the second company in the United States to perform this work.


Choreography: Gustavo Ramirez Sansano
Music: Perez Prado

Gustavo Ramirez Sansano’s acclaimed 18+1 returns to Columbus, with its celebratory air and a shower of confetti. Sansano displays his childhood in 18+1, highlighting the heavy influences of his native town, San Fulgencio, Spain along with its deep musical roots. Music from his culture and all that he has learned since leaving San Fulgencio is woven together in this triumphant 20-minute work. 18+1 originally premiered in 2012 with Luna Negra Dance Theater and was uniquely named to celebrate Sansano’s 18 years of choreography and his readiness to begin another year. Sansano has described 18+1 as “a little birthday party of my work as a choreographer.”


Choreography: Edwaard Liang
Composer: Gabriel Gaffney Smith

Water acts as a transformative power in Edwaard Liang’s Airavata. Literally meaning “Child of Water,” the ballet, set to new music by BalletMet dancer and composer Gabriel Gaffney Smith, is set in a post-apocalyptic society. Dancers move as primal beings with a pack mentality, viewing survival as paramount. They come to prey on Airavata, yet rain is his saving grace, reflecting back their true nature.